Shaktiananda Yoga for Body, Mind and Soul Yogic Teachings in the Ashtanga Tradition of Raja Yoga, Tantra Yoga, & Kundalini Yoga

Journey of Health, Knowing and Joy

Yogic Postures


    ‘Asana’ (posture) means staying or abiding. Asana is one way in which a person can experience the unity of body and mind. Asana is defined as that which is comfortable and easy, as well as firm. In the west, asana is called "posture". Yogic postures (asanas) are prescribed for the purpose of comfort and firmness during meditation and the practice of pranayama. An upright seated posture in which one can sit with comfort and no need to move is ideal for meditation. Asana is a dynamic position, in which the practitioner is perfectly poised between activity and non-activity. There is a corresponding mental balance between movement and stillness. Patanjali teaches that each posture reflects a mental attitude; whether that attitude is one of surrender, as in a forward-bending asana, or the strengthening of the will, through backward-bending postures, or the creation of a physical prayer with the body, as in the practice of Padmasana, the well-known lotus posture.

    The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali say that when the asanas are mastered the individual is more able to handle opposites and learn to adapt. Asana practice improves the ability to stand with ease, sit comfortably, or to cope with different demands. If we want to practice pranayama and meditation, we have to be able to sit comfortably erect for a period of time. Asanas help us focus on the breath rather than the body during pranayama practice. If we can sit comfortably and effortlessly erect there is nothing to distract us from our concentration on the breath and experience a deep meditation. Once the mental attitude has been created, it can then be spontaneously expressed as an asana; if one takes on the external form of an internal attitude, soon that attitude moves through body into mind, thus creating it there. Whichever way one works, the results are the same. Asana is thus both a preparation for meditation and a meditation sufficient in and of itself.

    Another advantage of asana is that it is direct. It can temporarily bring peace and quiet the mind. This quieting encourages the balancing of the mental functions of the individual, since it allows the intuitive aspects of the mind to have free play. This soothing effect on the brain has been verified by EEG data of brain during meditation. It has great healing implications. Patanjali suggests that the asana and the pranayama practices will bring about the desired state of health; the control of breath and bodily posture which will harmonize the flow of energy in the organism, thus creating evolution of the Spirit called Self-realization.

Twelve Basic Asanas


Practice the Asanas to the pure rhythmic sounds of Indian Music.



 Ravi Shankar Music






1. Sirshasan

* More Advanced

2. Sarvangasan

3. Halasan
 [Plough Pose]

4. Matsyasan

 [Fish Pose]









5. Paschimothan
  [Head-Knee Pose]

6. Bhujangasan
  [Cobra Pose]

7. Salabhasan
  [Locust Pose]

8. Dhanurasan
  [Bow Pose]












9. Ardha Matsendrasan
 [Spinal Twist]

10. Kakasana
[Crow Pose]

11. Pada Hasthasan
  [Hands to Feet]

12. Trikonasan
  [Triangle Pose]










The Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

    The Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga of Patanjali 

Yama, ethics and morals; Niyama, religious observances, reflection, Asanas, postures and exercises, Pranayama, breathing exercises, Pratyahara, withdrawal of senses from objects, Dharana, concentration and mental focusing, Dhyana, meditation, Samadhi, Self-realization, super-consciousness oneness with God.


Shaktiananda Yoga upholds the teachings of Patanjal who developed the Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga. Ancient wisdom from India, China, and Tibet; all originate as far back as from the masters of the Himalayas. Shaktiananda Yoga  provides students with techniques to build enthusiasm and integrity. The Shaktiananda Yoga technique involves exercise as a flowing dance with traditional Ashtanga which contains eight limbs or eight steps.





Shaktiananda Yoga classes include exercises and postures (asanas), breathing techniques, (pranayama), yogic philosophy, and guided relaxation and meditation.

Private yoga instruction and yoga therapy is available by appointment. Students must bring their own personal Yoga mat to class and any props they may wish to use. Mats and Props may be ordered if needed.

Through the practice of the Shaktiananda Yoga technique, the student experiences increased flexibility, health, and the reconnection to innate joy and goodness. Yoga then becomes a way of life. Shaktiananda Yoga is a transformational journey, and is for anyone, regardless of age, size, fitness level or background.

By ~Gurudevi, Satguru Shri Mahashaktiananda                   



Yoga Sequence

Example of a Yoga Sequence of Postures - Flowing into Each Other

      >  Go to Home Website